Aaron Rodgers’ bad jokes

Bryan Harvey
8 min readJan 5, 2024
A bobblehead.

I don’t want to sound like a stick-to-sports guy. And I would prefer to say just do the research. But Aaron Rodgers pretty much says that when he co-splays as an intellectual.

I was at one point in time an Aaron Rodgers fan, and people knew I was an Aaron Rodgers fan. My brother-in-law on one side of the family gifted me an Aaron Rodgers bobblehead. A brother-in-law on the other side gifted me an Aaron Rodgers t-shirt jersey. I was a groomsman at a wedding where the groom gifted all the groomsmen a football jersey. Mine was an Aaron Rodgers jersey. The same brother-in-law who gave me the bobble head gave me an ugly Christmas sweater with Aaron Rodgers on it, and it has grown uglier by the year.

Jordan Rodgers appeared on The Bachelorette in 2016. By then, rumors were already swirling like snowflakes that didn’t quite stick to the pavement about Aaron Rodgers’ relationship with his family. These rumors permeated the zeitgeist via soundbites from talking heads like Colin Cowherd and sportswriter Jamie O’Grady, but they also bled through in the interactions Aaron’s brother and the rest of the Rodgers family had in front of The Bachelorette’s camera crews during the show’s Joelle Fletcher season. I could be wrong, but I think there was a moment where JoJo perked up at the idea that meeting Jordan might actually lead to meeting Aaron. That is, after all, the gravity of celebrity…

--

--

Bryan Harvey

@The_Step_Back / @havehadhavehad / @mcsweeneys / @dailydrunkmag / @Rejectionlit / @Classical / @TheFLReview / @ColdMtnReview / @Bluestemmag / @HarpoonReview